External competitions for researchers (M/F)

Our vacancies are open to candidates with a doctorate (or equivalent degree), regardless of age or nationality. Our vacancies, located throughout France and abroad, cover a wide range of scientific disciplines: Biology, Chemistry, Ecology and Environment, Man and Society, Engineering and Systems, Mathematics, Nuclear and Particles, Physics, Information Sciences, Earth and Universe. Mobility is a major component of our HR policy. The management guidelines set out the general orientations of CNRS's mobility policy over several years.

Job offers and candidate area

Consult job offers, access your candidate space and find out about the competition process.

 

Registration for the 2024 competition campaign is now closed. Only registered candidates can access their file on the candidates' area.

 

 

 

Competition procedure

From 2024 onwards, the start of the campaign is postponed to January. The starting date remains October 1.

  • January - February : posting of offers and online registration.
  • March - June : eligibility phase (review of applications and auditions, the latter not being systematic for research director competitions).
  • June - July : admission phase (admissions jury)
  • October 1: appointment and assumption of duties (with possibility of postponement to the 1st of the following month until February 1 N+1)

 

If you have any questions: you can contact support via the online form.

Application procedure

Competitions are organized by scientific discipline or group of disciplines. For some competitions, scientific themes are specified. Competitions may be attached to one or more CNRS scientific institutes, depending on the disciplinary or interdisciplinary nature of the themes. There is no limit to the number of applications, particularly in the same campaign. You can apply to several different competitions. However, it is advisable to select competitions based on your qualifications and work, as well as your research project. Unlike the majority of recruitment competitions, competitions for male and female researchers are open regardless of nationality. Each year, nearly a third of candidates recruited are of foreign nationality. (Approximately 90 different nationalities)

There is no age limit for applicants, provided they have not reached the age limit for employment. There is no limit to the number of applications.

Closing dates and times are set by law and must be respected. You must make any changes to your application and send any additional documents (publications, theses) by post before the registration deadline. After registration closes:

  • no modification of the application file is possible,
  • no applications accepted,
  • no additional parts are taken into account.

In the candidates' guide, you'll find all the details and advice you need to prepare for the competition.

Calendars and juries

Competitions take place in two phases: the eligibility phase and the admission phase. Each phase is characterized by separate juries and specific organizational rules.

Eligibility

During this phase, the juries examine and shortlist the applications of candidates who have been admitted to the competition, and hold interviews with candidates whose applications have been shortlisted. They then draw up a list of eligible candidates for each competition. For research director competitions, juries examine the scientific merit of candidates on the basis of their application files.
This examination may also include an interview with the candidates. In this case, the juries make a pre-selection of the candidates' files, which will then be auditioned. Eligibility juries then draw up a list of eligible candidates.

Admission

The admission phase consists of an examination of the files of eligible candidates by the admission juries. At the end of this phase, the admissions juries draw up the lists of admitted candidates, and any supplementary lists.

2024 campaign calendar

  • Equivalence bodies: February 19-22
  • Admissibility juries: March 4 to April 5
  • Auditions: March 18 to June 12, depending on each section's schedule
  • Admissions juries: downloadable calendar below; their composition will be published in April-May.

 

Setting up eligibility juries

For each competition, an eligibility jury is set up, made up of members of the relevant section or interdisciplinary commission of the national committee. For each competition, the eligibility jury may be supplemented by one or two members from another section of the national committee, where this is justified by the need for scientific expertise.
For auditions, juries may be divided into "jury sections", depending on the number of candidates and their scientific fields of activity.

Setting up admission juries

For competitions for research fellows, an admissions jury is set up by one of the institutes whose activities concern the section responsible for the discipline(s) of the post(s) to be filled. Each jury comprises :

  • Institute Director or representative, Chairman ;
  • five members appointed by the Minister for Research, on the proposal of the Chairman;
  • five members appointed by the Minister for Research, after consultation with the Institute's Scientific Council, from among the members of the sections of the Comité National de la Recherche Scientifique with a rank at least equal to that of the positions to be filled.

Of these ten members, at least five must be CNRS researchers, at least two of whom must be elected members of the Comité National de la Recherche Scientifique.

A single admissions jury is set up for competitions for chargés de recherche and chargés de recherche in interdisciplinary commissions. It comprises :

  • CNRS President and CEO, Chairman ;
  • ten members appointed by the Minister for Research, on the proposal of the Chairman;
  • ten members appointed by the Minister for Research, after consultation with the scientific councils of the institutes, from among the members of the sections of the Comité National de la Recherche Scientifique with a rank at least equal to that of the posts to be filled; of these, at least five must be CNRS researchers, at least two of them chosen from among the elected members of the Comité National de la Recherche Scientifique.

For research director competitions, the admissions jury is common to all CNRS institutes. It is chaired by the President of the CNRS. It includes institute directors and leading scientists.

Results

Results are notified individually to all candidates. You can consult the following results below as the competition progresses:

  • Accepted for competition (following verification of applications)
  • Admitted to continue (following evaluation of applications for competitions whose eligibility includes an audition)
  • Eligible (following audition or directly after file evaluation in the absence of an audition)
  • Winners (after the admissions jury)
In each document, you can search for your competition by using the "Ctrl + F" function and entering the competition number in the search field (for example: 27/01).

Concours externes des chercheurs (H/F)

Nos recrutements sont ouverts aux candidats titulaires d’un doctorat (ou diplôme équivalent), sans conditions d’âge et de nationalité. Nos offres de concours, réparties dans toutes les régions de France et à l’étranger, couvrent différentes disciplines scientifiques : Biologie, Chimie, Ecologie et environnement, Homme et société, Ingénierie et systèmes, Mathématiques, Nucléaire et particules, Physique, Sciences de l’information, Terre et Univers. La mobilité est un enjeu majeur de notre Politique RH. Les lignes directrices de gestion déterminent de manière pluriannuelle les orientations générales de la politique de mobilité du CNRS.

Offres de concours et espace candidat

Consultez les offres, accédez à votre espace candidat et informez-vous sur le déroulement des concours.

 

Les inscriptions pour la campagne de concours 2024 sont closes. Seuls les candidats inscrits peuvent accéder à leur dossier sur l’espace candidats.

 

 

 

Déroulement des concours

A compter de 2024, le démarrage de la campagne est reporté au mois de janvier. La date de prise de fonction reste au 1er octobre.

  • Janvier – février : affichage des offres et inscription en ligne.
  • Mars – juin : phase d’admissibilité (étude des dossiers et auditions, ces dernières n’étant pas systématiques pour les concours de directeur de recherche).
  • Juin – juillet : phase d’admission (jury d’admission)
  • 1er octobre: nomination et prise de fonctions (avec possibilité de report au 1er du mois suivant jusqu’au 1er février N+1)

 

Pour toute question : vous pouvez contacter l’assistance via le formulaire en ligne.

Modalités de candidature

Les concours sont organisés par disciplines ou groupes de disciplines scientifiques. Pour certains d’entre eux, les thématiques scientifiques sont précisées. Les concours peuvent être rattachés à un ou plusieurs instituts scientifiques du CNRS selon la nature disciplinaire ou interdisciplinaire des thématiques. Il n’y a pas de limite au nombre de candidatures, notamment lors d’une même campagne. Vous pouvez postuler à plusieurs concours différents. Il est néanmoins recommandé de choisir de manière très ciblée les concours en fonction de vos titres et travaux ainsi que de votre projet de recherche. À la différence de la majorité des concours de recrutement, les concours de chercheurs et chercheuses sont ouverts sans aucune condition de nationalité. Chaque année, près d’un tiers des candidates et candidats recrutés sont de nationalité étrangère. (Environ 90 nationalités différentes)

Aucune condition d’âge n’est exigée pour candidater, sous réserve de ne pas avoir atteint la limite d’âge d’activité. Le nombre de candidatures n’est pas limité.

La date et les heures de clôture sont fixées règlementairement, leur respect est impératif. Les modifications à apporter à votre dossier de candidature et les envois postaux de pièces complémentaires (publications, thèses) sont à réaliser impérativement avant la clôture des inscriptions. Après la clôture des inscriptions :

  • aucune modification de dossier de candidature n’est réalisable,
  • aucune candidature n’est acceptée,
  • aucune pièce complémentaire n’est prise en compte.

Vous trouverez dans le guide candidats tous les précisions et conseils utiles pour la bonne préparation de votre concours.

Calendriers et jurys

Les concours se déroulent en deux phases : la phase d’admissibilité et la phase d’admission. Chaque phase est caractérisée par des jurys distincts et des règles d’organisation spécifiques.

L’admissibilité

Pour les concours de chargées et chargés de recherche, les jurys procèdent pendant cette phase à l’examen et à la présélection des dossiers des candidates et candidats admis à concourir et aux auditions des candidats dont les dossiers ont été présélectionnés. Ils établissent ensuite, pour chaque concours, la liste des candidats déclarés admissibles. Pour les concours directeurs de recherche, les jurys procèdent à partir des dossiers de candidature à un examen de la valeur scientifique des candidats
Cet examen peut comporter en outre une audition des candidates et candidats. Dans ce cas, les jurys procèdent à une présélection des dossiers des candidates et candidats qui seront auditionnés. Les jurys d’admissibilité établissent in fine la liste des candidats admissibles.

L’admission

La phase d’admission consiste en l’examen de dossiers des candidats admissibles par les jurys d’admission. A l’issue de cette phase, les jurys d’admission établissent les listes des candidates et candidats admis et le cas échéant des listes complémentaires.

Calendrier de la campagne 2024

  • Instances d’équivalence : du 19 au 22 février
  • Jurys d’admissibilité sur dossier : du 4 mars au 5 avril
  • Auditions : du 18 mars au 12 juin en fonction du calendrier de chaque section
  • Jurys d’admission : calendrier téléchargeable ci-dessous ; leurs compositions seront publiées en avril-mai

 

La constitution des jurys d’admissibilité

Pour chaque concours est constitué un jury d’admissibilité composé par les membres de la section ou commission interdisciplinaire compétente du comité national. Pour chaque concours et quand les nécessités de l’expertise scientifique des travaux le justifient, le jury d’admissibilité peut être complété par un ou deux membres appartenant à une autre section du comité national.
Pour la réalisation des auditions, les jurys peuvent être scindés en « sections de jury » en fonction de la pluralité des domaines d’activités scientifiques des candidats ou en raison de leur nombre.

La constitution des jurys d’admission

Pour les concours de chargées et chargés de recherche, un jury d’admission est constitué auprès de l’un des instituts dont les activités concernent la section dont relève la ou les disciplines du ou des emplois à pourvoir. Chaque jury comprend :

  • le directeur d’institut ou son représentant, président ;
  • cinq membres nommés par le ministre chargé de la recherche, sur proposition du président ;
  • cinq membres nommés par le ministre chargé de la recherche, après consultation du conseil scientifique de l’institut, parmi les membres des sections du comité national de la recherche scientifique de rang au moins égal à celui des postes à pourvoir.

Pour ces dix membres, cinq au moins doivent être des chercheurs du CNRS, choisis pour deux d’entre eux au moins parmi les membres élus au comité national de la recherche scientifique.

Pour les concours de chargées et chargés de recherche ouverts dans les commissions interdisciplinaires, un jury d’admission unique est constitué. Il comprend :

  • le président-directeur général du CNRS, président ;
  • dix membres nommés par le ministre chargé de la recherche, sur proposition du président ;
  • dix membres nommés par le ministre chargé de la recherche, après consultation des conseils scientifiques des instituts, parmi les membres des sections du comité national de la recherche scientifique de rang au moins égal à celui des postes à pourvoir ; parmi eux, cinq au moins doivent être des chercheurs du CNRS, choisis pour deux d’entre eux au moins parmi les membres élus au comité national de la recherche scientifique.

Pour les concours de directeurs de recherche, le jury d’admission est commun à l’ensemble des instituts du CNRS. Il est présidé par le Président du CNRS. Il comprend les directeurs d’instituts et des personnalités scientifiques.

Résultats

Les résultats sont notifiés individuellement à l’ensemble des candidates et candidats. Vous pourrez consulter ci-dessous au fur et à mesure du déroulement des concours les résultats suivants :

  • Admis à concourir (suite à la vérification des dossiers d’inscription)
  • Admis à poursuivre (suite à l’évaluation des dossiers pour les concours dont l’admissibilité inclut une audition)
  • Admissibles (suite à l’audition ou directement après l’évaluation des dossiers en l’absence d’audition)
  • Lauréates et lauréats (après le jury d’admission)
Dans chaque document, vous pouvez rechercher votre concours en utilisant la fonction « Ctrl + F » et en indiquant dans le champ de recherche le numéro du concours (par exemple : 27/01).